you're reading...
Environmental Issues, Natural Health, Organic Food, Uncategorized

Free Food Movies on Hulu That You Will Want to Share

Remember 8-track tapes? Beta videos? Rotary dial phones? If you do, you are admitting you are my age or older! The delivery of recorded music, movies and tv shows has changed. They are still being produced at record rates, only in new packages. This past week I listened to two new singer-songwriters on WFUV streaming online. I used Twitter on my phone, watched funny animal videos on YouTube, searched for someone on Facebook, and watched a movie on Hulu. Even wilder is that if you call me at home, I can answer from anywhere I

am on my computer or on my phone using Skype. So what does this mean for enviromentalists and food activists? It means that spreading your message is easier than ever, and you have the power and the resources to influence people if you take advantage of it. Tune in, share videos on Facebook, Twitter, or Linked In, or mention it to your friends at the coffee shop. Just get involved, and tune in to the new channels. I’m writing this post about Hulu because I’ve noticed on Hulu there are a larger percentage of  environmentally conscious films and shows available, and a much higher percentage of ads are for things like wind power and solar energy and social activism. I’d so much rather have my kid watching something with those ads than the chemical cleaner and pharmaceutical ads on regular television.

Here are some of my favorite food movies available to watch for free on Hulu.com:

Supersize Me: Essential viewing- watch it, make sure kids in your family watch it. This film is a great way to get people thinking about the damaging health and social costs of a how we learn about food from marketing, advertising and

The Future of Food: The Future of Food, is a compelling and startling documentary  that explores the technology and key regulatory, legal, ethical, environmental and consumer issues of our food system, including—genetically engineered foods, patents and food corporation control. In a message from the makers of the film: “In 2010 as we take note of where we stand and look toward the future, the issues raised in The Future of Food are more pressing than ever. The corporate control of agriculture and the seed supply is meeting more and more resistance from the sustainable food movement that has risen up around the world.  Food and agriculture have become central in discussions about climate change, sequestering carbon, health and the preservation of biological diversity.”

Bitter Harvest: A drama about a young dairy farmer’s race to identify a deadly chemical that is killing his cattle and bringing a strange illness to his child. One reviewer wrote that this is “the best modern depiction of a United States farm and the demands of modern farming.”

_______________________

Get Involved! Whether you live in our small town or wish you did, join the local green conversation, scheming and news of real gatherings.

Follow KatonahGreen on

Twitter
Facebook Page
Meetup Group

and the Katonah Green Calendar

Contact me to talk about how you can  use social media to promote your message and build your following.

About Heather Flournoy

I am a writer, social media connoisseur, environmentalist and professional marketer. My personal blog is KatonahGreen.com and my professional website is ReallySocialStrategies.com. I love people's stories, and a passionate cultivator of connections, both for myself and helping others to connect. Tell me who you are, what your story is, and I'll tell you who you should talk to. In my own view, I know some of the most interesting, colorful and profound people in the world. You know who you are. Besides all the above, I am proud to say I am a working class single mother who raised a beautiful daughter. I connect deeply with animals, especially horses. I love music, coffee shops, farmer's markets, growing my own food, sustainable agriculture, broad thinkers, the healing arts, and dive diners.

Discussion

One thought on “Free Food Movies on Hulu That You Will Want to Share

  1. Great post – I love Hulu – have never thought about using it this way – thanks for the info. Looking forward to watching Supersize Me.

    Posted by Rose Colonna | April 20, 2010, 3:18 pm

Leave a comment

Who is Behind the Curtain?


Heather Flournoy is the main author, social media wiz, and community organizer behind KatonahGreen. Hover over the image for more information.

Energize Bedford

Energize Bedford

Click the image to save $ and help the environment NOW

Follow Me on Twitter

Twitter logo

Join the Conversation

facebook logo

Follow on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

KATONAH GREEN MEETUP GROUP

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group