you're reading...
Environment, Events, Farmer's Market, Heather Flournoy, Katonah Green, Revitalizing Neighborhoods, South Salem, Sustainability, Westchester County

Proud to be Green in Lewisboro Plus Earth Day ’10 Events

I’m getting psyched for this weekend – rain or shine, let’s celebrate Earth Day! I’ve got my hand in several events over the weekend, so thought I’d shout them out! (links below). Without pre-meditation, they happen all to be in South Salem, NY.

I am so proud to be a part of the Town of Lewisboro, of which South Salem is a part. Last month the town council created a Sustainability Committee, and joined the Northern Westchester Energy Action Coalition. Our Katonah-Lewisboro Secondary Schools won a grant to install solar panels, and won a Magna Award for “Going Green, from Awareness to Practice: Creating a Culture of Sustainability and Wellness.” Lewisboro is the home of

world-renowned Wolf Conservation Center, Teich Garden Systems who is getting lots of national press these days for their work with school gardens, home to a thriving farmer’s market, and Synergis, the award-winning Recycling and Solid Waste Management consulting company. There are so many more local luminaries and behind-the-scenes people dedicated to helping the environment, it’s amazing, especially considering that there are only a little more than 12,000 people living here. Apologies I can’t mention you all here!

I am proud to have been appointed as a member of the new Sustainability Committee, along with Mike Caplan, who works for the clean energy company Fortistar, Stephanie Smith, a Lewisboro resident attending college and working on eco projects at school, and David Cooper, an environmental lawyer with Zarin & Steinmetz. Under the guidance of Town Council member Dan Welsh, we hope to accomplish some significant conservation measures in Lewisboro, and contribute to the overall lessening of Westchester County’s environmental impact on the planet. Rock on Lewisboro!

SATURDAY

Garden Tool Swap, Saturday Saturday, April 24, 10-1 South Salem

Local Foods-Local Chef Demo, Saturday, April 24, 10-1 South Salem

Slow Food Potluck Meetup, Saturday, April 24, 6-9pm South Salem (rsvp rq’d)

If you aren’t on my Calendar list for area green happenings, Click Here to sign up now

_______________________

Get Involved! Whether you live in our small town or wish you did, join the local green conversation, scheming and news of real gatherings.

Follow KatonahGreen on

Twitter
Facebook Page
Meetup Group

and the Katonah Green Calendar

Contact me to talk about how you can  use social media to promote your message and build your following.

About Heather Flournoy

I am a writer, social media connoisseur, environmentalist and professional marketer. My personal blog is KatonahGreen.com and my professional website is ReallySocialStrategies.com. I love people's stories, and a passionate cultivator of connections, both for myself and helping others to connect. Tell me who you are, what your story is, and I'll tell you who you should talk to. In my own view, I know some of the most interesting, colorful and profound people in the world. You know who you are. Besides all the above, I am proud to say I am a working class single mother who raised a beautiful daughter. I connect deeply with animals, especially horses. I love music, coffee shops, farmer's markets, growing my own food, sustainable agriculture, broad thinkers, the healing arts, and dive diners.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Proud to be Green in Lewisboro Plus Earth Day ’10 Events

  1. Hi
    friends Janis and Laurie told me about the slow food potluck. Is it too late for tonight’s meetup?
    Thx
    Deb Maier

    Posted by Deb Maier | April 24, 2010, 3:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Who is Behind the Curtain?


Heather Flournoy is the main author, social media wiz, and community organizer behind KatonahGreen. Hover over the image for more information.

Energize Bedford

Energize Bedford

Click the image to save $ and help the environment NOW

Follow Me on Twitter

Twitter logo

Join the Conversation

facebook logo

Follow on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

KATONAH GREEN MEETUP GROUP

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

