you're reading...
Cooking, Eco Restaurant Packaging, Gluten-Free, Katonah, Local Food, Natural Health, Organic Food, Shop Local

Macro and Raw in Katonah?

Robin McQueen enjoying her macro and raw lunch at 02 Cafe

Robin McQueen enjoying her lunch at 02

Update: March 30th, 2010

02 Living Cafe is now open and in full swing, after being  closed for renovations for a while. If possible, the food is even better than it was before, and the decor is simple and lovely. Chef Tom and his staff are enthusiastic about the food, drink and comraderie in the cafe, and you can usually expect to be greeted warmly by the manager of the yoga center and cafe, Nulla Donnelly. You can find me regularly there having my fresh juiced greens with a bit of fennel and a dash of Himalayan sea salt that gives it a perfect balance. Odd as it may seem, I usually follow that with an Americano, which is the best in the area, possibly because of the water filtration system and Tom’s passion for food. Some days I stay for lunch, and am partial to the ‘pizza’ which has an incredible raw vegetable ‘ricotta’, fresh herb sprouts, and sundried tomatoes on a toasted multigrain tortilla. Yum…

Located in Yellow Monkey Village, Cross River, NY

___________________

If you want to meet with me to talk about how you can market your business in a tough economy, offer to buy me lunch at my favorite new cafe: 02 Cafe at Yellow Monkey Village!

I met this week with Chef Tom Donnelly to find out if his ingredients and creations stand up to my discerning palate and criteria. And the answer is…yes.

Tom has a simple menu of 02 Green Juice (wonderfully refreshing and energizing, featuring greens, fennel and a touch of Himalayan salt), daily specialty salads that are delicate, delicious, nearly all organic and contain no cane sugar, preservatives, trans-fats or chemical additives, are naturally rich in enzymes with an emphasis on fresh and local.

This week Dr. Susan Rubin and Christopher Roberts joined me for a Time for Lunch Campaign planning lunch and we sampled a fresh Local Corn Salad, an Adzuki Bean and Cumin Vegan Quesadilla, and an Heirloom Tomato, Avocado and Fresh Plum salad with olive oil and lemon. Yumm…

Freshly prepared Black Rice with Ginger and Carrots, Red Quinoa Salad, Shaved Golden Beets and Edamame, and Sesame Green and Yellow String Beans

Freshly prepared Black Rice with Ginger and Carrots, Red Quinoa Salad, Shaved Golden Beets and Edamame, and Sesame Green and Yellow String Beans

The surroundings are pleasant with indoor and outdoor seating, and free wireless access.  The coffee is organic and fair-trade. I was really pleased to get a glass of filtered tap water that tasted great, and totally pleased to see potato starch cutlery and biodegradable t0-go cups. Good job 02!

We need more cafe’s and restaurants to lead us into a cleaner, greener future!

Stay tuned to find out when Tom Donnelly will be participating in the Chef Demo Series at Gossett’s Farm Market. This weekend, Saturday, August 22nd from 11-1 the market is pleased to have Chef Liz Gagnon of Nature’s Temptations show us how to choose the best produce to make a delectable, seasonal dish. www.GossettsFarmMarket.com

About Heather Flournoy

I am a writer, social media connoisseur, environmentalist and professional marketer. My personal blog is KatonahGreen.com and my professional website is ReallySocialStrategies.com. I love people's stories, and a passionate cultivator of connections, both for myself and helping others to connect. Tell me who you are, what your story is, and I'll tell you who you should talk to. In my own view, I know some of the most interesting, colorful and profound people in the world. You know who you are. Besides all the above, I am proud to say I am a working class single mother who raised a beautiful daughter. I connect deeply with animals, especially horses. I love music, coffee shops, farmer's markets, growing my own food, sustainable agriculture, broad thinkers, the healing arts, and dive diners.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Who is Behind the Curtain?


Heather Flournoy is the main author, social media wiz, and community organizer behind KatonahGreen. Hover over the image for more information.

Energize Bedford

Energize Bedford

Click the image to save $ and help the environment NOW

Follow Me on Twitter

Twitter logo

Join the Conversation

facebook logo

Follow on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

KATONAH GREEN MEETUP GROUP

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group