you're reading...
Cooking, Farmer's Market, Fresh Produce, Garlic, Heather Flournoy, Inspiration, Local Food, Organic Food, Recipes, Seasonal Produce

Re-Powered: In Honor of My Grandmother’s Passing

Marion von Geldern passed away in her sleep, after her last cup of green tea and a lovely day we spent together, last July 20th. She was, and remains, a huge inspiration in my life. She was an avid gardener, cook, and simply loved loads of people. I’m reposting this raw soup recipe and video featuring me in the kitchen with her, filmed in the winter of ’09, a few months before she passed away. When I was a kid and got hurt or indignant she would hug me to her and say, “Let it all out, honey.” Then she would listen to my story, until I felt re-powered. When I was older, and would come to her with a broken heart or outrage about injustices in the world, she would cry a few tears with me, then hug me to her and say, “Let it all out, honey.” Then she would listen to my story, until I felt re-powered. She was 97. I’m posting this in her honor. I wish I could give you the incredible gift she gave me.
_______________

This time of year we have loads of fresh veggies available from gardens and farmer’s markets and local farms. I’d like to share a recipe for a quick soup I make at least once a week, often several times a week. It only takes about 20 minutes from start until it’s in your bowl. It’s easily adaptable to what you have on hand, hearty, yummy and incredibly healthy because it’s raw and therefore retains its enzyme activity and all of the nutrients of fresh vegetables.

More than that, I’m excited to share this with you as I just found an unedited video of me making this soup, hidden in the recesses of my computer. And there is a very special guest in it–my grandmother Marion, who passed away on July 20th. I’m so glad to be able to give you a glimpse of her and her loving, supportive nature. Here’s the video and the recipe:

Heather In The Kitchen: Green Cilantro-Sunflower Soup

RECIPE
for 3 servings
Ingredients
1 stalk celery, cut into 2 inch pieces
1 small carrot or half of a sweet potato, roughly chopped
2 Tbsp sprouted sunflower seeds (soak raw, shelled sunflower seeds in water for at least 4 hours, or overnight)
2 leaves kale or swiss chard or bok choy or 1 cup chopped spinach
2 leaves mustard greens, chopped
3 sprigs fresh cilantro, stem included, chopped
1 small piece of broccoli or half of a cucumber
1 Tbsp chopped onion
1/2 clove fresh garlic
1 small tomato
1 tsp sea salt
1 dash chipotle habanero sauce or other hot sauce
2 Tbsp lemon juice
1.5 cups water

Directions:
Add all of this to a blender and blend on the “ice crush” setting or high until the soup looks creamy. Taste. Add more salt if necessary. Pour into bowls. I like to serve this with olive oil drizzled on top, some black pepper and some freshly grated parmesan cheese.
________________________

Thanks to Dr. Susan Carpenter for filming this, and to my Gram for sharing her love of food and organic agriculture with me.
________________________
Connect on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter: @katonahgreen
Join the Katonah Green and Beyond Meetup Group:

About Heather Flournoy

I am a writer, social media connoisseur, environmentalist and professional marketer. My personal blog is KatonahGreen.com and my professional website is ReallySocialStrategies.com. I love people's stories, and a passionate cultivator of connections, both for myself and helping others to connect. Tell me who you are, what your story is, and I'll tell you who you should talk to. In my own view, I know some of the most interesting, colorful and profound people in the world. You know who you are. Besides all the above, I am proud to say I am a working class single mother who raised a beautiful daughter. I connect deeply with animals, especially horses. I love music, coffee shops, farmer's markets, growing my own food, sustainable agriculture, broad thinkers, the healing arts, and dive diners.

Discussion

One thought on “Re-Powered: In Honor of My Grandmother’s Passing

  1. great video with your great grandmother. How nice for her to wait until you were ready to eat with her.

    Also you looked comfortable in the video, and the composition was good.

    Some people do not photo well in video, but you have no risk of that.

    I would possibly bring more energy in your voice. Speak from the diaphragm and bring some close ups. But Heck, don’t jump around and dance like I do in MY videos. 🙂

    Posted by Kevin Shea | July 26, 2010, 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Who is Behind the Curtain?


Heather Flournoy is the main author, social media wiz, and community organizer behind KatonahGreen. Hover over the image for more information.

Energize Bedford

Energize Bedford

Click the image to save $ and help the environment NOW

Follow Me on Twitter

Twitter logo

Join the Conversation

facebook logo

Follow on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

KATONAH GREEN MEETUP GROUP

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

