you're reading...
Farmer's Market, Foraging, Heather Flournoy, Katonah, Meetups, South Salem

Chia & Wineberries Recipe and Weekend Markets

Wild Wineberries in Katonah

Last night I picked 2 quarts of wineberries in 2o minutes from the side of local trail! Besides blueberries, these are m y favorite berries. I’d like to show you where to find them and how to pick them, so I’m inviting you to join the Katonah Green and Beyond Meetup Group for a wild wineberry picking walk on Sunday morning. Go here for the details. While you are there, why don’t you go ahead and join the meetup group?

Here’s a quick superfood recipe for Chia and Wineberries that I made up last night and loved! It has a mild flavor, great consistency, is pretty, and loaded with antioxidants.

CHIA and WINEBERRY SUPERFOOD DESSERT

Soak 2 Tbsp chia seeds for 10 minutes in 1/3 cup water, stirring twice

Stir in:

  • 1 Tbsp pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup wineberries
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk or yogurt
    1 tsp lucuma powder or 1/2 tsp agave

Mix together, put in a pretty dish and top with some more wineberries and enjoy. Have it for breakfast or a snack or for a light dessert.
_________________________________

CHEF DEMO AT GOSSETT’s FARM MARKET, SATURDAY at 11
Don’t Miss TABLE Local Market’s Jon Pratt showing us how to prepare a dish from the farmer’s market this Saturday, August 1st at 11 at Gossett’s Farm Market. Free Samples until 1 pm. See you there!
_________________________________

Send me pictures of your finds at local farmer’s markets and roadside stands and I’ll post them here! You’ll get your name on the blog, plus support local farmer’s.
Some markets and stands I’ve been to lately:

Ridgefield Farmer’s Market: Friday afternoon
Gossett’s Farm Market: Saturday morning, South Salem
Katonah/Lewisboro Farmer’s Market: Saturday morning
Ryder Farm Self-Serve Farm Stand: anytime
Muscoot Farmer’s Market: Sunday morning
_________________________________

Follow my updates on Twitter: @katonahgreen

Sign up for the Katonah Green Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Lake-Katonah-NY/Katonah-Green/55371150935

Check out the Katonah Green and Beyond Meetup Group: http://www.meetup.com/Katonah-Green-and-Beyond/

About Heather Flournoy

I am a writer, social media connoisseur, environmentalist and professional marketer. My personal blog is KatonahGreen.com and my professional website is ReallySocialStrategies.com. I love people's stories, and a passionate cultivator of connections, both for myself and helping others to connect. Tell me who you are, what your story is, and I'll tell you who you should talk to. In my own view, I know some of the most interesting, colorful and profound people in the world. You know who you are. Besides all the above, I am proud to say I am a working class single mother who raised a beautiful daughter. I connect deeply with animals, especially horses. I love music, coffee shops, farmer's markets, growing my own food, sustainable agriculture, broad thinkers, the healing arts, and dive diners.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Chia & Wineberries Recipe and Weekend Markets

  1. I found lots of wineberries on Saturday – picked 7 lbs worth! Here is a recipe for wineberry preserves that I made last night, in case you need something to do with all the bounty:

    http://localkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/08/02/wild-wineberry-preserves/

    Happy picking-
    Kaela

    Posted by localkitchen | August 2, 2009, 6:26 pm
  2. I found lots of wineberries on Saturday – picked 7 lbs worth! Here is a recipe for wineberry preserves that I made last night, in case you need something to do with all the bounty:

    http://localkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/08/02/wild-wineberry-preserves/

    Happy picking-
    Kaela

    Posted by localkitchen | August 2, 2009, 6:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Who is Behind the Curtain?


Heather Flournoy is the main author, social media wiz, and community organizer behind KatonahGreen. Hover over the image for more information.

Energize Bedford

Energize Bedford

Click the image to save $ and help the environment NOW

Follow Me on Twitter

Twitter logo

Join the Conversation

facebook logo

Follow on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

KATONAH GREEN MEETUP GROUP

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

