you're reading...
Events, GreenDrinks Westchester, Katonah Green, Local Food

Special Announcement: GreenDrinks and Food Inc, This Week

GreenDrinks will be held in Northern Westchester! Apologies for the late notice, I’ve been away. More on that in a minute.

FIRST: come out and join Seth Leitman and GreenDrinks Westchester, and KatonahGreen on Wednesday, July 29th, 6pm ’til 9:30pm at the Flying Pig on Lexington Restaurant in Mt Kisco, NY. Get to know people who are working to build a greener future for Northern Westchester!

Free hors douvers & great organic wines, vodka and great scene! The Flying Pig on Lexington is Northern Westchester‘ s standard bearer for local, natural, farm-to-table foods. With a menu that showcases farm-fresh foods from the Hudson Valley and beyond, we capture the vibrancy of seasonal flavors.

SECOND: If you still haven’t seen Food, Inc- here’s your chance:

Food, Inc. at Jacob Burns Theater in Pleasantville

In Food, Inc., filmmaker Robert Kenner talks to best-selling authors Eric Schlosser (Fast Food Nation) and Michael Pollan (Omnivore’s Dilemma) to lift the veil on our nation’s food industry—a nexus of mechanized farms, engineered food, and unhealthy practices that’s been effectively hidden from American consumers by slick public relations and slack government regulation. This eye-opening documentary explains how unfettered corporations exploited laws and subsidies to create wholesale monopolies, and explores how modern developments in food production pose grave risks to our health and environment.

Robert Kenner. 2008. 94 m. NR. US. Magnolia Pictures.

Official Website / Trailer Entertainment Weekly review

Tue, July 28 9:15
Sat, August 1 12:05
Sun, August 2 12:00

LASTLY:
The reason I’ve been away is that my grandmother Marion passed away on July 20th. I am so very lucky to have spent her last afternoon with her looking at flowers and singing and left her having her last cup of green tea. She passed in her sleep that evening. Her name is Marion von Geldern, and to her I owe my love of gardening, organic food, caring about the welfare of animals and my love of cooking. Marion was one of the most loving, non-judgemental, optimistic and caring people I’ve ever met. This is a bit personal, but here is short video that I was able to make on that last afternoon. If I had known she would pass on that evening, I would have stayed with her for her last 2 hours, but am deeply grateful that I had what I had. Marion, I’ll be loving you, always. Here’s the link.

About Heather Flournoy

I am a writer, social media connoisseur, environmentalist and professional marketer. My personal blog is KatonahGreen.com and my professional website is ReallySocialStrategies.com. I love people's stories, and a passionate cultivator of connections, both for myself and helping others to connect. Tell me who you are, what your story is, and I'll tell you who you should talk to. In my own view, I know some of the most interesting, colorful and profound people in the world. You know who you are. Besides all the above, I am proud to say I am a working class single mother who raised a beautiful daughter. I connect deeply with animals, especially horses. I love music, coffee shops, farmer's markets, growing my own food, sustainable agriculture, broad thinkers, the healing arts, and dive diners.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Who is Behind the Curtain?


Heather Flournoy is the main author, social media wiz, and community organizer behind KatonahGreen. Hover over the image for more information.

Energize Bedford

Energize Bedford

Click the image to save $ and help the environment NOW

Follow Me on Twitter

Twitter logo

Join the Conversation

facebook logo

Follow on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

KATONAH GREEN MEETUP GROUP

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

