you're reading...
Uncategorized

KatonahGreen in California!

Where have I been? California! I was born in Flournoy, CA (yes, that does exist). That might explain my west coast leanings!

When you had a foot of snow last Sunday I got to fly to Anaheim, then drive to Desert Hot Springs and spend two days at a high-silica content natural spring in 85 degree weather. It’s been a long winter, and the break was wonderful! If you get a chance to visit Desert Hot Springs, go to Sams RV Park. They have lovely non-chlorinated hot springs that were rated the most healing in the world by Prevention Magazine. I helped with some filming at We Care Spa and you can watch it here. And I starred in an episode of The Renegade Health Show you can watch here! Along the drive I saw miles and miles of wind turbines outside of Palm Springs. Here’s a glimpse.

The goal of my trip was ultimately to attend Natural Products Expo West in Anaheim, where I met up with old friends and chose a few new friends from the 30,000 attendees! I had a fantastic meal at Chef Ito’s raw restaurant, Au Lac, with: Kevin and Annmarie Gianni, Suzanne and Rebecca from the Renegade Health Show; Solla, veg cookbook author extraordinaire from Iceland, and her entourage; Jim Strohecker and Nancy Shaw of HealthWorld Online; Rudy Shur and Anthony Pomes from Square One Publishers, Matt Monarch of Raw Food World; and special dinner guest Linda Gray.

A few green notes from Southern California: From a supplement in the Los Angeles Times Jobs: A report that Green Collar jobs in California are growing 10 times faster than in other segments of the economy and expects that the Obama stimulus package will further improve these numbers, especially in green energy.

I also saw natural gas powered city buses in Anaheim with no emissions. It was great to stand on a street corner waiting for the crossing light, and not be overwhelmed by clouds of exhaust. Here’s an article on natural gas powered school buses.

About Heather Flournoy

I am a writer, social media connoisseur, environmentalist and professional marketer. My personal blog is KatonahGreen.com and my professional website is ReallySocialStrategies.com. I love people's stories, and a passionate cultivator of connections, both for myself and helping others to connect. Tell me who you are, what your story is, and I'll tell you who you should talk to. In my own view, I know some of the most interesting, colorful and profound people in the world. You know who you are. Besides all the above, I am proud to say I am a working class single mother who raised a beautiful daughter. I connect deeply with animals, especially horses. I love music, coffee shops, farmer's markets, growing my own food, sustainable agriculture, broad thinkers, the healing arts, and dive diners.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Who is Behind the Curtain?


Heather Flournoy is the main author, social media wiz, and community organizer behind KatonahGreen. Hover over the image for more information.

Energize Bedford

Energize Bedford

Click the image to save $ and help the environment NOW

Follow Me on Twitter

Twitter logo

Join the Conversation

facebook logo

Follow on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

KATONAH GREEN MEETUP GROUP

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

