you're reading...
Bedford Hills, Beekeeping, Composting, Events, Farmer's Market, Katonah, Recycling, South Salem

The Best Local Event and Spirit Ever! Plus Events this Weekend

I finally have time to sit down and write about the best conference I’ve ever been to: The Bedford Environmental Summit. If you were one of the hundreds of people they had to turn away so they could stay within fire code regulations, I’m truly sorry you missed it. The Summit organizers had hoped for 650 attendees, and they exceeded that number two days before the event started through online ticket sales. They sold over 1,000 tickets, indicative of the region’s need and desire to get actively involved in making local, sustainable change! The workshops and lectures were educational and fascinating, the vendor areas were buzzing and the food fantastic. There was a general air of excitment and enthusiam and cooperation that was deeply inspiring.

There is so much I could tell, but I’ll just share a few personal highlights. Bob Woodruff, who anchors “Focus Earth,” a weekly eco-newscast for Planet Green, told an inspiring story about a town that went from 10% to 92% of households recycling through coordinated efforts with the town and local businesses. I plan on finding out the details and I’m sure many people in the audience were wondering if Katonah/ Bedford could do the same, given that the current state of recycling is pretty low percentage-wise, and I heard talk that the current operator of the recycling facility is losing so much money they might not be renewing their contract. I got to listen to famed sustainable chef Michel Nischan talk about local foods and sustainable eating. An interesting focus was the need for a change in our mentalities surrounding food. Though a chef, he said we as a nation eat out too much, to which I agree. We generally don’t consider eating what is grown in our area, and how the media-created drive for ‘variety’ effects the planet.

Photo: Heather Flournoy, Cynthia Brennan of TABLE, Jon Zeltsman of Community Markets, pause at the TABLE table.

In between lectures there was fantastic regional and sustainably produced foods organized by TABLE Local Market and wonderful volunteers. It was some of the best food I’ve seen at an expo. The vendor rooms were filled with people who were there to educate and share as much as to promote what they are doing. The room was buzzing all day long with people there to learn from people out doing things hands-on for the environment in the fields and in the research institutes and in the building industries.


Photo: Charene, Helene and Heather in front of Near and Natural’s sample table.
I spoke with Erika Haberkorn who has is a home eco-consultant in Katonah and even helps to prepare organic kids meals. Helene and Charene from Near and Natural market in Bedford Village were there talking with people about local foods and sharing samples from regional producers. I had a fascinating talk with Highfields Institute composting consultants from Vermont. We discussed ‘compostable’ disposable take-out products and how we could locally implement food waste collection programs!

Jim Nordgren of the Bedford Audobon Society talked with me about plans for the Bylane Farm on Todd Road in Katonah. I’m looking forward to discussing upcoming events and the garden programs they’ll be doing there.

I didn’t get to speak with Synergis Waste, but noticed that they had organized waste collection of compostable disposable cups, food and napkins at the summit. I’m hoping to see this more at large events.

I got to learn about Teich Garden Systems developed by Mark Teich of South Salem. He has lots of inspiring stories of super-easy, low-maintenance garden systems being installed in schools and senior residential living facilities so they can grow food easily.

I spent close to half an hour with DJ of Bedford Bee Honeybee Service getting educated in bee hive management and discussing his theories on Colony Collapse Disorder and the dependence of commercial fruit producers on bee colonies. I’m looking forward to working with DJ to do more local public education on backyard beekeeping.

You can look through the Summit’s website to see powerpoint presentations from various presenters, and also links to regional ‘green’ businesses and organizations that partnered with the Energy Advisory Panel to support this event.

“The real work of planet-saving will be small, humble and humbling… and, insofar as it involves love, rewarding. Its jobs will be too many to count, too modest to make anyone rich or famous.” – Wendell Berry

With this enthusiasm for making change happen locally, I can’t wait to see what’s next from the Bedford Energy Advisory Panel who were the originators of this event. I don’t have room to mention every one of the great people I met with, but stay in touch!

______________

Check the Calendar for upcoming Events by visiting the blog and looking on the left hand column.

Green Events This Weekend:

Stillpoints: A Special Exhibit at Dharma Yoga, Yellow Monkey Village, this Friday and Saturday.

The South Salem Farmer’s Market

The Hudson River Tour and Eagle Fest!

About Heather Flournoy

I am a writer, social media connoisseur, environmentalist and professional marketer. My personal blog is KatonahGreen.com and my professional website is ReallySocialStrategies.com. I love people's stories, and a passionate cultivator of connections, both for myself and helping others to connect. Tell me who you are, what your story is, and I'll tell you who you should talk to. In my own view, I know some of the most interesting, colorful and profound people in the world. You know who you are. Besides all the above, I am proud to say I am a working class single mother who raised a beautiful daughter. I connect deeply with animals, especially horses. I love music, coffee shops, farmer's markets, growing my own food, sustainable agriculture, broad thinkers, the healing arts, and dive diners.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Who is Behind the Curtain?


Heather Flournoy is the main author, social media wiz, and community organizer behind KatonahGreen. Hover over the image for more information.

Energize Bedford

Energize Bedford

Click the image to save $ and help the environment NOW

Follow Me on Twitter

Twitter logo

Join the Conversation

facebook logo

Follow on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

KATONAH GREEN MEETUP GROUP

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

