you're reading...
Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, KatonahGreen, Organic Connection, Recipes

Special Thanksgiving Pumpkin Pie Video: Organic, Fresh, Gluten-Free, Topped with Brandy!

I made a pie tonight for my friend from Mt. Kisco, Susan Carpenter. Susan is English and isn’t familiar with making American pumpkin pie. She also avoids eating gluten, eats organic for the most part, and avoids cane sugar. So this recipe is my solution for her, and I thought I’d share it with you all. I’m always excited when I learn something new and this week I learned how to use fresh pumpkin to make pie. Click here to watch the video instructions…

_________________

Here’s the recipe from the video. The amounts are approximate, since I don’t measure and I don’t use recipes. I think proportionately when cooking as you can see from the recipe. (like, hmmm, if I cook two cups of this and eat two cups of it, then I will probably gain 1 inch…)

Ingredients:

  • 3.5-4 cups cooked pumpkin, drained (use baking pumpkin, not jack-o-lantern pumpkin)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup creamy stuff: in this video I use a combination of soy and rice milk.
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 3-5 Tbsp agave nectar (depending on sweetness desired)
  • 1 Tbsp Pumpkin Pie Spice (or 1tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp clove, 1/4 tsp nutmeg)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 Tbsp Brandy

Add all of this to a blender and blend until fluffy and even-colored.

Pour into greased ramekins or into a pie crust. For Sue’s pie I used a base in the pie pan of chopped walnuts, pecans and coconut flakes, lightly chopped in the food processor. The smaller ramekins bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes, or until the top edges come away from the dish and are slightly browned. The pie takes about 45 minutes until the pie starts to brown on top and come away from the edges.

I served the ramekins with a little more brandy poured over the top. Yumm!

Notes: You don’t have to use soy or rice milk, I tried a little half and half this week and that worked great too. I baked the pumpkin until soft, then let it drain overnight. A lot of liquid came out! Regarding crusts: you can always make your own, but I’ve experimented with two store crusts this week: From Mrs. Green’s: a frozen organic whole spelt crust. It was mediocre. From Nature’s Temptations: a frozen organic wheat crust that was fantastic. Of course I couldn’t use these for Sue as she wanted one that was gluten-free, and preferably grain-free.

I wish I taken a photo of this pumpkin! It was huge! I got it at Boni-Bel organic farm and it was about 50 pounds. Not only have I experimented with pie over the past week, but also Pumpkin-Ginger soup, Baked Savory Pumpkin with Garlic and Chili. The baked pumpkin went over well. Our friend Jared ate about 3 pounds of it for supper!

Heather’s Pumpkin Pie: gluten-free version with Brandy from Heather Flournoy on Vimeo.

About Heather Flournoy

I am a writer, social media connoisseur, environmentalist and professional marketer. My personal blog is KatonahGreen.com and my professional website is ReallySocialStrategies.com. I love people's stories, and a passionate cultivator of connections, both for myself and helping others to connect. Tell me who you are, what your story is, and I'll tell you who you should talk to. In my own view, I know some of the most interesting, colorful and profound people in the world. You know who you are. Besides all the above, I am proud to say I am a working class single mother who raised a beautiful daughter. I connect deeply with animals, especially horses. I love music, coffee shops, farmer's markets, growing my own food, sustainable agriculture, broad thinkers, the healing arts, and dive diners.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Special Thanksgiving Pumpkin Pie Video: Organic, Fresh, Gluten-Free, Topped with Brandy!

  1. O my goodness. What fun. Now if only one could buy such a cool pumpkin pie at one’s local helffood store! (JP)

    Posted by Jan-Piet | November 23, 2008, 8:52 pm
  2. O my goodness. What fun. Now if only one could buy such a cool pumpkin pie at one’s local helffood store! (JP)

    Posted by Jan-Piet | November 23, 2008, 8:52 pm
  3. O my goodness. What fun. Now if only one could buy such a cool pumpkin pie at one’s local helffood store! (JP)

    Posted by Jan-Piet | November 23, 2008, 8:52 pm
  4. Many thanks Heather! The pie is in the freezer and I am refraining from eating it until Thursday! I intend to buy some coconut milk to have as topping. mmmm!

    Posted by sue | November 24, 2008, 12:54 am
  5. Many thanks Heather! The pie is in the freezer and I am refraining from eating it until Thursday! I intend to buy some coconut milk to have as topping. mmmm!

    Posted by sue | November 24, 2008, 12:54 am
  6. Many thanks Heather! The pie is in the freezer and I am refraining from eating it until Thursday! I intend to buy some coconut milk to have as topping. mmmm!

    Posted by sue | November 24, 2008, 12:54 am
  7. Hey Heather, tried making this pumpkin pie, I'm not much of a baker, made a huge mess…ended up just drinking the brandy. It was delicious!! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving.
    > xo
    > Mik

    Posted by mikreilly | November 29, 2008, 9:39 pm
  8. Hey Heather, tried making this pumpkin pie, I'm not much of a baker, made a huge mess…ended up just drinking the brandy. It was delicious!! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving.
    > xo
    > Mik

    Posted by mikreilly | November 29, 2008, 9:39 pm
  9. Hey Heather, tried making this pumpkin pie, I'm not much of a baker, made a huge mess…ended up just drinking the brandy. It was delicious!! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving.
    > xo
    > Mik

    Posted by mikreilly | November 29, 2008, 9:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Who is Behind the Curtain?


Heather Flournoy is the main author, social media wiz, and community organizer behind KatonahGreen. Hover over the image for more information.

Energize Bedford

Energize Bedford

Click the image to save $ and help the environment NOW

Follow Me on Twitter

Twitter logo

Join the Conversation

facebook logo

Follow on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

KATONAH GREEN MEETUP GROUP

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

