you're reading...
Fresh Produce, Garden of Ideas, Local Food, Ridgefield

Shop Fresh in Ridgefield

Yesterday was a gorgeous fall day, so I was easily pulled away from my computer to go visit with Lisa Weinstein from North Salem as she shopped for fresh, organic greens at Garden of Ideas in Ridgefield. What a treat! We found fresh bok choi, black radishes, arugula, spicy salad mix with edible flowers, ruby and white baby turnips, purple peppers, cilantro and gorgeous tomatoes! Her son Kai found some yogurt in the refrigerator from another area farm. The prices were definitely reasonable.

I was so pleased to find such succulent greens available now, even after the Ridgefield Farmer’s market had closed for the season. Joe Keller, the Garden’s founder, says they should have good greens until Thanksgiving, and some beets too. This place is great – they grow organically and will be applying for their certified organic status soon. Ilse Svendsen, one of the owners, explained that if you are growing organically and sell less than $5,000 in a year, then you can say ‘organic’ on your labels and signs. Their business has now increased enough that they can apply for ‘certified organic’ status.

I hadn’t been to Garden of Ideas for the past 6 years and thought that it was a lovely place then. My first summer in this area my daughter and I strolled through their gorgeous sculpture garden, wild rice field and woodland paths. But now there is so much more to see! They have two greenhouses and lots of vegetable beds. And now they have an art gallery right in the garden!

I think it is fantastic that there is an organic farm contributing to the sustainability of Ridgefield. The potential is awesome. If there were a few more farms like this Ridgefield could become a self-reliant town for its vegetable and fruit needs, thereby greatly reducing their carbon footprint as a town. And if there were a way to get to Garden of Ideas by foot and bike, that would be even better. What if the town of Ridgefield talked to the town of Katonah and the Bedford Riding Lanes Association and created a model of trail systems from downtown to the highschool? What if the town made Ridgefield a walkable town? How great would it be to be able to walk from Town Hall to Ironwood Gallery, Southwest Cafe and then across the street to Cellar Xv (good organic wines there)?

See more photos from my shopping trip to Garden of Ideas

About Heather Flournoy

I am a writer, social media connoisseur, environmentalist and professional marketer. My personal blog is KatonahGreen.com and my professional website is ReallySocialStrategies.com. I love people's stories, and a passionate cultivator of connections, both for myself and helping others to connect. Tell me who you are, what your story is, and I'll tell you who you should talk to. In my own view, I know some of the most interesting, colorful and profound people in the world. You know who you are. Besides all the above, I am proud to say I am a working class single mother who raised a beautiful daughter. I connect deeply with animals, especially horses. I love music, coffee shops, farmer's markets, growing my own food, sustainable agriculture, broad thinkers, the healing arts, and dive diners.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Shop Fresh in Ridgefield

  1. Heather, I love your blog! Your writing is so fresh and optimistic, very much needed in a time when cynicism seems to rule.
    warmly,
    ellika

    Posted by renbshilling | October 22, 2008, 1:49 am
  2. Heather, I love your blog! Your writing is so fresh and optimistic, very much needed in a time when cynicism seems to rule.
    warmly,
    ellika

    Posted by renbshilling | October 22, 2008, 1:49 am
  3. Hi Heather,
    I agree about Garden of Ideas. As soon as OC closed, I began shopping with them and Hickory Farms, also in Ridgefield. But I love walking the paths at GOI and saw an absolutely huge old snapping turtle in the water along the path! What a great place!
    David

    Posted by David | October 28, 2008, 2:13 pm
  4. Hi Heather,
    I agree about Garden of Ideas. As soon as OC closed, I began shopping with them and Hickory Farms, also in Ridgefield. But I love walking the paths at GOI and saw an absolutely huge old snapping turtle in the water along the path! What a great place!
    David

    Posted by David | October 28, 2008, 2:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Who is Behind the Curtain?


Heather Flournoy is the main author, social media wiz, and community organizer behind KatonahGreen. Hover over the image for more information.

Energize Bedford

Energize Bedford

Click the image to save $ and help the environment NOW

Follow Me on Twitter

Twitter logo

Join the Conversation

facebook logo

Follow on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

KATONAH GREEN MEETUP GROUP

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

Click here to Join the Katonah Green Meetup Group

